Why Gyms Have Contracts and Cable Companies Don’t

So it just hit me today why I had to get into a contract with the fitness center I am apart of, and I didn’t have to when I had the cable company come out to my apartment and hook me up (maybe some cable companies do have contracts but mine, thankfully, does not.)

More than likely the fitness center thinks at some point I will want out.

The cable company on the other hand doesn’t necessarily think that about me.

Because entertainment is always easier to stick with than running out of breath. ;-)

But I’m really glad I had to get into that contract. It keeps me going. Because I know every month for the next long time I am going to be shelling out a good amount of money in order to be able to walk in those doors and use that treadmill and those machines. I’m in a contract. And that keeps me going.

Maybe we need contracts more often. With ourselves. About things we want to do or see accomplished. Because we all will want out at one point or another. Maybe we need to write one up and throw some kind of incentive in there for ourselves that if we do this then we’ll get that. Whatever it may be for whatever goal you want to meet. Because though it may be hard to stick with the reward will be well worth it.

2 Responses

  1. I like that idea! Contracts keep us motivated to do something we might otherwise “opt” out of. Even marriage is a contract with “consequences” if we “opt” out the first time things get rough. But when we stick it out, the reward is well worth it! Good post.

  2. In NZ, pretty much all internet/phone providers have at least a 12mo. contract. Mine (Orcon) is the only one I know of that doesn’t!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

