How to Make the Right Buying Decisions

Though I have a budget–and stick to it for the most part–there are sometimes things that “come up.” They aren’t necessarily emergencies but a decision needs to be made about whether I am going to part with my hard-earned money for an actual physical item or service.

Surely this happens to you too.

One of those things for me recently was a new laptop. I had dropped mine (like I had the one before that…I never considered myself clumsy but maybe I am?!) and had broken the piece where the charger goes in. There was no way to charge the laptop, and it eventually died (whodathunk?)

I sent it into the manufacturer, and they said it would cost me 200 BIG ONES to fix it. I bought the laptop for $350 so I thought that wasn’t necessarily the best idea.

So off I go laptop shopping….because I can’t live without one, right?? šŸ˜‰

Well it definitely wasn’t in my “budget” to drop $600 on a new laptop that week. But I did. You may be thinking, “Well, that’s not frugal” or “What about the budget, Meghan??” I understand both of those and here’s a few thoughts to consider when situations similar to this come up.

When to Spend Outside Your Budget

There’s not a formula (or maybe there is! Anyone care to share?) but I realized when I broke my laptop that I truly did need one. It wasn’t an emergency–there were other laptops available to me, but in the long run, to do what I need to do on a daily basis, I need my own laptop to save files, surf the internet, do homework, create new posts, connect with friends, etc. It wasn’t in my budget, but I had to make a way where there was no way.

This could potentially come up when you are out window shopping with your friend (who’s REALLY shopping) and you find the greatest deal in the world on something you’e wanted for a long time. You didn’t PLAN it for that month (or week or however you do your budget) but if you’re ever going to buy it, NOW is the time. Guess what? There’s nothing wrong with that….As long as you CAN. And when I say “can” I mean as long as you have enough money to pay all your other bills, feed yourself and still get to work everyday.

Depending on your cash flow this may or may not be an option, but here are some steps for us to take to make sure we make the right buying decision:

1. If possible, wait.
For me, this was possible. I was able to search out different laptops and decide which one I wanted. I didn’t have to go buy it the day my other one broke. There are plenty of people I know (in my house) who will let me use their computer. So that is what I did. I used my dad’s while I searched for what I wanted and decided whether I wanted to part with my money. Impulse spending WILL get you in trouble! No doubt. Wait at least 5 days before making a big purchase just to make sure that is exactly what you want and for that price. Sometimes this isn’t possible–the deal ends today–and in that instance, if it’s not a need, you might want to part with it.

I waited at least a couple of weeks going back and forth on what I wanted to do. But I’m glad I did.

2. Find the best deal.
Duh, right? But just think about some of the people you know who spend the extra 15 cents a gallon for gas just because they don’t feel like crossing the street. Some people are just…..not smart! =) Take the time to find the best deal. When I was buying my laptop, I didn’t do this. I paid $600 at Best Buy for the exact same laptop Office Depot was selling for $550 that week. After I bought it, my dad (the smart guy he is) researched it a little more and let me know about the discount at Office Depot. So I took the TIME to go back into Best Buy and ask them for a price match (which they gave me.) Don’t be like me–find the best deal.

3. Evaluate your cash flow.
Honestly, it wasn’t in my best interest to part with $600 (laptop plus tax) in cash that week. Yes, I had waited. Yes, I (or my dad!) had found the best deal, but I still didn’t want to give the cash. If it wasn’t something necessary to my life like a laptop I probably would have waited longer and just saved up the cash to specifically buy the laptop. But it was coming down to the point where I really did need it, and I didn’t want to use my Emergency Fund to pay for it. So what do you do? If you come to this step and you realize it’s not in your best interest to part with the cash, decide then and there whether this is really a necessity (for the situation, time, and price.) If it is, look for the best payment option. If it’s not, maybe you should pass this time.

4. Decide how to pay.
I didn’t want to part with all the cash so I looked at other options. I could put it on my regular Visa credit card and pay interest on it (because I knew I wouldn’t pay off the entire balance in a month) OR I could sign up for Best Buy’s card and get a “same-as-cash” deal where some bank pays for it and as long as I pay them back the full balance before 18 months is up it’s the same as cash, no interest charged. When all was evaluated, this was the only way for me to buy this laptop. I wasn’t going to put it on my credit card, and I wasn’t going to part with thatĀ amountĀ of cash at the time. So if this option wouldn’t have been there I would have chosen a laptop that was less expensive and paid cash for it. Sometimes these kind of deals are available and sometime they’re not. But look and ask! You’ll never know if you don’t.

Have you had to buy something that was “out of your budget” recently? How did you handle it?

Leave a Reply

