Do You Reduce, Reuse and Recycle?

I’m not the greatest at recycling, but now that I’m on my own I’m beginning to see the benefits of it. Not just for the environment but also for your wallet (which I have to admit to me is much more of an incentive.)

I’ve found myself stuffing the trash can more full than normal to save on trash bags, reusing sandwich bags that had chips in them, turning off lights and fans when I don’t need them and cracking the windows instead of turning on the air.

That’s just a few things I’ve found myself doing, but I am sure there are countless ways to reduce my use, reuse certain products and recycle all around. All of these things reduces waste and helps both the earth and you.

So why don’t more people do it? It takes a little bit of effort and this thing some of us don’t like to do all of the time called “thinking.” But it’s well worth it and if we all would take a little bit of time and go out of our way to recycle ultimately everyone would profit. You can recycle almost anything–paper, plastic, glass, food (for compost)–and you can often reuse things around the house.

Here are a few fun facts I found about recycling*:

  • Recycling one aluminum can saves enough energy to run your TV for 3 hours
  • Approximately 1 billion trees worth of paper are thrown away every year in the U.S.
  • Energy saved from recycling one glass bottle can run a 100-watt light bulb for four hours or a compact fluorescent bulb for 20 hours.

Do you recycle? What are some ways you practice this?

*Facts found at Recycling Revolution

3 Responses

  1. way to go girl. We recycle practically everything here in Canada. it made me sad that those services weren’t available down in TX.
    hope the move has been smooth! you’re such a grown up. =)

    • I think most people avoid it just because it does take a little bit of effort. It might be smoother up in Canada but in my city I actually have to take my items somewhere. But that’s no big deal as I’m always on the road. I don’t mind taking myself to get a movie; why should I mind taking myself to recycle?? =)

  2. Hi Meghan, ace blog!

    How are you getting on with your attempts to reduce, reuse and recycle?

Leave a Reply

