Stupid Mistakes Will Cost You

I have 2 checking accounts. One I use to pay bills out of (reoccurring, monthly ones basically) and the other to “live” out of (daily expenses.)

I keep only what I need to in my bills checking account–though I know I need to put a few hundred in there as a cushion, I just haven’t got that far yet.

So this past week I deposited money into the account through the “night drop” at my credit union thinking it would get posted on Saturday (because they are open.) Of course, it didn’t get deposited till Monday but I knew there was that risk.

In the mean time I was charged rent. It was the one weekend I wasn’t paying very close attention to my finances since I had taken cash out to spend while on a mini-vacation to Dallas, and I didn’t think there was any reason to really check up on it.

Wrong.

My stupid (little) mistake cost me a $22.50 non-sufficient fund fee plus a little bit of hassle with the management of my apartment (though they were very understanding since I went to them the day of instead of later.)

Thankfully, since I have a good track record the (awesome) credit union I am a member of refunded it for me, no questions asked. But it does show that regardless of how “automated” your finances are you still need to keep an eye on it.

Wisdom: I have now set up overdraft protection from another account of mine just in case. I should have done this when I opened the account but it goes to show we all can make mistakes sometimes. 😉 I was tempted to get stressed over the whole ordeal but I knew it would work out, and I’d just have to be patient. So I did. And it all paid off. All stress does it make you miserable. It doesn’t help your finances. So next time, just take a deep breath, plan how to fix the problem, then go fix it.

It will all be over soon. 🙂

One Response

  1. I have heard stories like that before. I am surprised a smart young lady like yourself didn’t already have that “overdraft” protection set up. Glad it’s all taken care of now.

Leave a Reply

